2
$\begingroup$

How many pieces can you organize on a Chess board without one side being attacked by the other? This scoring will be used to prove you have the highest.

Piece cost:

  • Pawn - 1
  • Knight - 3
  • Bishop - 3
  • Rook - 5
  • Queen - 9

Rules:

  • Both sides must have the same pieces on the board
  • Your score is totalled by only 1 side
  • One color cannot attack the other
  • No king allowed.
$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Is there restriction on the number of pieces of each type that can be used? If not, the eight queens should be the baseline, scoring 36. $\endgroup$ – LeppyR64 Oct 14 '14 at 22:52
  • $\begingroup$ There is no restriction on pieces. $\endgroup$ – warspyking Oct 14 '14 at 23:04
13
$\begingroup$

From the bottom up:

Three rows of 8 black queens
One row of black pawns
One row of white pawns
Three rows of white queens

224.

Because the black pawns attack down and the white pawns attack up, they can be placed next to each other without attacking each other.

224 Points

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Can you provide a picture? $\endgroup$ – warspyking Oct 14 '14 at 23:57
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Here you go. $\endgroup$ – Joe Z. Oct 15 '14 at 0:05
  • $\begingroup$ The pawns attack eachother in your answer. $\endgroup$ – warspyking Oct 15 '14 at 0:50
  • 5
    $\begingroup$ @warspyking white moves up the board, so the black pawns are behind them meaning they can't attack $\endgroup$ – Joe Oct 15 '14 at 0:55
  • $\begingroup$ Oh... I guess that makes sense. $\endgroup$ – warspyking Oct 15 '14 at 1:06
5
$\begingroup$

Although I like my first answer, I did also wonder how good I could manage with black and white in their normal positions. The best I've gotten so far uses 16 queens, 4 rooks, 4 bishops and 4 pawns.

180.

180 Points

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ I believe you can change D6 -> black pawn, E3 -> white rook, E4 -> white pawn to gain 3 points $\endgroup$ – Joe Oct 15 '14 at 15:30
  • $\begingroup$ @Joe Both sides must have same pieces. White would have 1 more rook than black. $\endgroup$ – Joel Rondeau Oct 15 '14 at 15:33
  • $\begingroup$ Ah, I forgot the same-pieces argument. How very dull. $\endgroup$ – Joe Oct 15 '14 at 15:36
  • $\begingroup$ Yeah, I know. Without it, I'm pretty sure I could manage 576. $\endgroup$ – Joel Rondeau Oct 15 '14 at 15:40
  • $\begingroup$ @Joel You know the white side can have black pieces right? $\endgroup$ – warspyking Oct 15 '14 at 19:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.