8
$\begingroup$

What was white's last move in the game shown below?

enter image description here

Note: This is a screenshot taken from an actual game and all moves made were legal.

ETA: The last move played by white was the last move of the game which ended in a checkmate.

$\endgroup$
11
$\begingroup$

Are you playing

bughouse chess?

If so,

White's last move was to drop the rook, which their teammate (playing with the black pieces on the other board) captured, on h7.

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Yes, this is the only possibility. The game must have been rot13(ohtubhfr be penmlubhfr). In this specific case, it was rot13(penmlubhfr, gur gjb cynlre inevnag). $\endgroup$ – eyl327 May 10 at 18:45
3
$\begingroup$

Of course it could also be

another chess variant where the king is non-royal piece (i.e. it can be captured just like all other pieces), like Antichess (although I believe it's probably impossible in regular antichess with mandatory piece captures).

P.S.

That means that the question (at least its title) is a bit incorrect, since a chess variant game (at least one using significantly different rules, like crazyhouse/bughouse) couldn't be called a chess game anymore.

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ If I had said rot13("purff inevnag") in the title it would have given away the trick. You are correct that it could have been rot13(Nagvpurff naq juvgr pbhyq unir cynlrq okt8 gb trg gur obneq vagb guvf cbfvgvba. Oynpx jbhyq abg unir arrqrq gb pncgher gur ebbx ba u7 fvapr gurl pbhyq unir znqr n pncgher ba nabgure cneg bs gur obneq.) $\endgroup$ – eyl327 May 11 at 9:01
  • $\begingroup$ I have updated the question to address these issues. Thanks for pointing them out! $\endgroup$ – eyl327 May 12 at 19:11
2
$\begingroup$

The last move:

The Rook moved from B7 to B8

Because:

If the bishop was moved their would have already been a checkmate before by the two rooks. No other pieces could have been moved

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Black is in check by the rook on h7, so this could not have happened by white moving to b8. $\endgroup$ – eyl327 May 10 at 18:46
2
$\begingroup$

I think the answer is:

1. Rh7+ Bg7

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Bg7 wouldn't be legal in that case... $\endgroup$ – Glorfindel May 10 at 18:44
  • $\begingroup$ Bg7 would not stop black from being in check. $\endgroup$ – eyl327 May 10 at 18:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.