0
$\begingroup$

A simple task: It’s White to move selfmate themselves in three moves. White pawns are moving up.

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ So is black trying to make the "worst" moves in order to thwart us? Also, I'm unconvinced that enigmatic-puzzle is a good tag here. $\endgroup$ – Brandon_J Sep 7 at 14:44
  • $\begingroup$ @Brandon_J Yes, Black is trying not to checkmate us. And the tag IS relevant in this case. $\endgroup$ – Rewan Demontay Sep 7 at 16:58
  • $\begingroup$ Is it an enigmatic puzzle because ROT13(gur tbny vf gb cebir gung vg'f vzcbffvoyr)? $\endgroup$ – Arnaud Mortier Sep 9 at 21:37
  • $\begingroup$ @ArnaudMortier No. There does exist a solution. $\endgroup$ – Rewan Demontay Sep 9 at 22:00
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @RewanDemontay Cebzbgvat gb rarzl cvrprf sryg yvxr gur bayl ravtzngvp lrg fbzrjung yrtvgvzngr guvat bar pbhyq qb gb npuvrir fryszngr. V'yy gel naq svaq n fbyhgvba abj. $\endgroup$ – isaacg Sep 11 at 19:33
1
$\begingroup$

The secret is that we are

allowing promotion to an enemy piece. A literal reading of a previous version of the promotion rule implied that promotion to an enemy piece was legal. See this question: https://chess.stackexchange.com/questions/2756/do-the-official-rules-of-chess-forbid-promoting-a-pawn-to-a-piece-of-the-opposit

As a result, we could

selfmate in two moves, as follows: 1. dxc8=bN+ Nd6 2. h8=bN Ng7# where the "b" prefix indicates that we are promoting to black knights in both cases.

However, the puzzle asks us to

selfmate in 3 moves instead. The only way to do so is to throw in an in-between move: 1. dxc8=bN+ Nd6 2. b8=bN+ Nc6 3. h8=bN Ng6# All moves are forced.

$\endgroup$
0
$\begingroup$

Here is an answer.

1. b8=Q+ a natural first forcing move. 1. ... Rc6 only move.
2. Kg8!?&%@wtf$ The king tramples on the head of its own bishop. Because of course he can.
2. ... f6 only move.
3. Kh8 The bishop unfolds back to normal with squeaking noises.
3. ... f5# only move. And it's checkmate and you can't go back to g8 because, er... you can break the rules only once per game/when your opponent is not paying attention/when you're not in check/when your king is not on the h8 square.

$\endgroup$
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ [enigmatic-puzzle] is not "just do whatever you want" - making up your own rules to solve a puzzle doesn't seem like a proper answer to me. $\endgroup$ – Deusovi Sep 7 at 20:25
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @Deusovi Well, before I wrote this I actually went on to read what enigmatic puzzle meant, and it does seem to imply that this is not an honest, usual chess puzzle. In fact I'm almost convinced that either this, or the only other way to get to the final king square (also illegal) is the intended answer. But anyway, I get it that not everyone is going to like this answer. $\endgroup$ – Arnaud Mortier Sep 7 at 20:28
  • $\begingroup$ @ArnaudMortier Nice thinking, altough Deusovi is correct, Also, even IF your idea was correct, Black can play 2... f5!, refuting your solution. +1 for effort though! ;D Plus 3. Kh8 would give checkmate since the bishop is put back and there is no Black pawn in the way. $\endgroup$ – Rewan Demontay Sep 7 at 21:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.