4
$\begingroup$

Many chess problems are dedicated to legal games, and very few to illegal ones. So I’ve decided to start another series of the latter!

Every problem I make will have some offbeat thing about it that won’t follow normal chess rules. The position will provide you with plenty of clues as to what it is. Sometimes I will give you some clues. These chess games are meant to the wrong way!


Task: State the rule/s that you believe are being broken based on the position and/or what clues I have/you think are being given. You must also use this rule to complete the given game.

The Position:

What To Do: With white to move, and black to cooperate, stalemate white in ONE move!

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ I can stalemate with Rg8 Rh7 if the white king isn't allowed to move down rank. I don't understand what you mean by rules being broken. This is a legal position that could occur with normal rules, so there could be a lot of choices $\endgroup$ – Artemmm Apr 16 at 1:40
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Well yes, but the point is to find an ILLEGAL way to do it. $\endgroup$ – Rewan Demontay Apr 16 at 1:43
  • $\begingroup$ @ArtemLugin It's a legal position with black to move, but not a legal position with white to move as specified. $\endgroup$ – isaacg Apr 16 at 17:35
  • $\begingroup$ What @isaacg said! $\endgroup$ – Rewan Demontay Apr 16 at 18:14
  • $\begingroup$ @isaacg Why is that? Could you explain, I don't see that $\endgroup$ – Artemmm Apr 16 at 20:29
3
$\begingroup$

I notice that

There are three white rooks in play. This means that one of the rooks has come from pawn promotion.

White's strategy may therefore be

To perform a rook demotion to a pawn (the inverse operation to balance the board).
Presumably, white would play the rook to block the check.
So the illegal move would be something like Rg8=.
This piece now becomes a pawn frozen at the end of the board which allows black to play Rf7 for stalemate

Title

The misspelling in the title suggests that the illegal move has something to do with the g rook moving to row 8 in an improper way (That Ain't Rght... where ht may be short for huit, 8 in French)

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.