Have you ever missed a one-move checkmate and immediately realized it after making your move? If you have, you just might have what it takes to crack this problem. Let's take an example:

  1. g4 e5
  2. f4 Be7?
  3. Nc3 Nc6?

enter image description here

In this example, black has already missed two mating moves: one with the queen (2...Qh4#), and one with the bishop (3...Bh4#). The goal is to find the smallest number of moves after which the same side has missed a mate-in-one with both a queen, a rook, a knight, a bishop and a pawn. Whoever finds the smallest number of moves wins.


  • The piece delivering checkmate is what counts. If you move a bishop to discover a mate by rook check, it's a mate by a rook. Mates by double-check are counted as both pieces.
  • Promoted pawns count as the promoted piece, not as a pawn.
  • You can use any moves from the starting position, not necessarily the same ones as in the example.
  • $\begingroup$ Do we have to start with the six moves you've provided? $\endgroup$
    – ZanyG
    Commented Mar 21, 2019 at 10:03
  • $\begingroup$ Edited to clarify the rules. $\endgroup$
    – Jafe
    Commented Mar 21, 2019 at 10:18
  • 4
    $\begingroup$ I don't think "both" means what you think it means. :) $\endgroup$
    – Rubio
    Commented Mar 21, 2019 at 15:30
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @Rubio Incontheivable! $\endgroup$
    – Brandon_J
    Commented Mar 21, 2019 at 19:34
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I take this is "helpmate", so to speak? $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 22, 2019 at 14:51

2 Answers 2


1. f3 e6 2. g4 a5 3. Kf2 a4 4. Ke3 Qe7 5. Kf4 Qb4+ 6. Ke5 a3

  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Very nice! So many ways to finish it off. $\endgroup$
    – Jafe
    Commented Mar 21, 2019 at 10:53

1. f3 e6
2. g4 h5
3. Kf2 a5
4. gxh5 a4
5. Ke3 Rxh5
6. Ke4 Rh4+
7. Ke5 g6??


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.