6
$\begingroup$

One day, I heard two of my friends were playing an online game of chess. I went to spectate, and this was the position:

enter image description here

However, I looked at the move list, and realized White's sixth move had just been played. My friends both knew how to play chess, so I brought this up in chat:

Excited Raichu: Um, how is it only Black's sixth move? More than half the pieces are gone!

Friend #1: We're playing Atomic.

Excited Raichu: Atomic?

Friend #2: Yeah. If you capture a piece, the capturing piece, and all pieces (that aren't pawns) adjacent, even diagonally adjacent, to it explode and are captured. If you explode the other king, you win.

Excited Raichu: Oh, I see how you got here by White's 6th move. Keep playing.

How do you reach this position after White's 6th move using the Atomic ruleset?

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ What happens if you capture a pawn, or capture with a pawn? $\endgroup$ – Dr Xorile Oct 31 '18 at 17:57
  • $\begingroup$ @DrXorile In either case, the pawn explodes. $\endgroup$ – Excited Raichu Oct 31 '18 at 17:59
  • $\begingroup$ and surrounding pieces (but not pawns)? $\endgroup$ – Dr Xorile Oct 31 '18 at 18:00
  • $\begingroup$ @DrXorile they also explode. $\endgroup$ – Excited Raichu Oct 31 '18 at 18:02
  • $\begingroup$ Do explosions chain? When you capture and explode the piece next to it, does that piece then explode the pieces next to it too or does it stop after the first "chain"? $\endgroup$ – Dorrulf Oct 31 '18 at 18:47
5
$\begingroup$

Moves as follows, () designates collateral damage

1. b4 a5 2. bxa5 Rxa2(a1,b1) 3. Ba3 c5 4. Bxc5 Qc7 5. Qa1 Qxh2(g1,h1) 6. Qxg7(f8,g8,h8)

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.