Here, white is stalemated. The king is not in check, but white has no legal moves. Not because any move white makes would put the king in check -- which is how stalemates normally happen -- but because no white piece can move at all, even if we temporarily ignore the no-self-check rule.
(Black is not stalemated: king takes bishop.)
Now, this example is a bit wasteful, 62 white pieces plus the two kings. Also, it can't be reached from the starting position.
Come up with an example, using the fewest pieces (total both sides). Can it actually be reached from the starting position?
there is essentially only one answer. [EDIT: OP screwed up]