13
$\begingroup$

These are puzzles similar to Kakuro, which is the creation of a friend of mine whom I met last year:

Partiti_1

Rules: Place one or more digits from 1 to 9 in arbitrary order in each empty cell, such that a number in the top left corner of each cell is the sum of digits entered in that cell. (A cell with no number in the corner still needs one or more digits, but you aren't told its sum.) Same digits cannot be placed in a single cell or in cells that touch, even diagonally.


Partiti: puzzles and partition, Thinh Van Duc Lai


Puzzle source: http://logicmastersindia.com/lmitests/dl.asp?attachmentid=710

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Hey, I know this puzzle from last week's contest :D -> logicmastersindia.com/PR/201802 $\endgroup$ – athin Mar 2 '18 at 8:04
  • $\begingroup$ Yes, that is from IB. By the way, do you also participate in the PR? $\endgroup$ – ABcDexter Mar 2 '18 at 8:05
  • $\begingroup$ Yep, but I must admit I have less experience in it (I just started to participate last month I guess haha xD) $\endgroup$ – athin Mar 2 '18 at 8:11
  • $\begingroup$ @athin, nice :) I was injured the past week, couldn't give my level best. $\endgroup$ – ABcDexter Mar 2 '18 at 8:13
7
$\begingroup$

I think this works:

enter image description here

How I solved it:

The top right gives some easy answers (1, 2, from there the three 4s). Then I simply checked the possibilities for adjacent cells, which were all solvable on their own when done in the right order.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ That's correct but also fill the centre :) $\endgroup$ – ABcDexter Mar 2 '18 at 8:28
  • $\begingroup$ @ABcDexter Ah, I presumed since it was empty I shouldn't fill anything in. Does it mean I can fill in anything (non-zero) instead? $\endgroup$ – Lolgast Mar 2 '18 at 8:29
  • $\begingroup$ Well, if you look at the eight adjacent cells then there is only one value which goes in there, which is 9. $\endgroup$ – ABcDexter Mar 2 '18 at 8:36
  • $\begingroup$ @ABcDexter Yeah I noticed that. My question was intended more in the direction of "Can I have any sum I want, as long as the adjacent cell rules are satisfied?" to which the answer, if I understand correctly, is yes. $\endgroup$ – Lolgast Mar 2 '18 at 8:37
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Btw, nice puzzle! Haven't seen it before (though I have done kakuro's) $\endgroup$ – Lolgast Mar 2 '18 at 8:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.