9
$\begingroup$

From the chess starting setup position, the twins are playing White.

All regular rules are applied except:

  • The Black player wins if he makes it to the 7th move
  • Each twin makes a move, then black moves

How can the twins checkmate their opponent to win?

$\endgroup$
4
  • $\begingroup$ Black moves when the King is in check. $\endgroup$
    – TSLF
    Jun 4 '17 at 17:22
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ So, white has 2 moves for every black 1? $\endgroup$ Jun 4 '17 at 17:24
  • $\begingroup$ yes,when the first white move is not a check $\endgroup$
    – TSLF
    Jun 4 '17 at 17:26
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ Does the checkmate condition account for white getting two moves in a row, or do the twins have to enter a position that would be checkmate under standard rules? $\endgroup$
    – xnor
    Jun 4 '17 at 22:07
7
$\begingroup$

Targeting the weakest square (f7) is the quickest.

I have the following solutions, using standard algebraic notation, with white move 1, white move 2; black move

1. Nf3, Ne5; f6 (or f5)
2. e4, Qh5+; g6
3. Nxg6, Ne5#

If 1. ... Nh6 (to protect f7)
2. e4, Bc4; e6

If 2. ... d5, then 3. Bxd5, Bxf7, continuing as below,
while on 2. ... f6 (or f5), 3. Bf7+; Nxf7 4. Qh5, Qxf7#

3. Bxe6, Bxf7+; Nxf7
4. Qf3, Qxf7#

Blocking the diagonal first with 1. ... e6 gives us:
2. e4, Qh5; Nh6
3. Nxf7, Nxh6+ (or Nd6+); Ke7
4. e5, Qf7#

if 2. ... Ke7
3. Qxf7+; Kd6
4. Na3, Nac4+; Kc5
5. Qxe6, Qd5+; Kb4
6. Qa4#

1. ... g6 is no better, with play as in other lines.
2. e4, Bc4; Nh6

2. ... e6 allows 3. Qf3, Qxf7#

3. Qf3, Bxf7+; Nxf7
4. Qxf7+

While 1. ... d6, threatening the Knight, fails to
2. e4, Bb5+; Qd7
3. Qf3, Qxf7+; Kd8
4. Qxf8+; Qe8
5. Qxe8#

1. ... c6, trying to give the king an escape route
2. e4, Qf3; Qa5
3. Qxf7+; Kd8
4. Qxf8+; Kc7
5. Nf7, Qd8#

It appears the best black can do, is get mated at move 7.

1. Nf3, Ne5; Nc6
2. Nxc6, Ne5; e6, continuing as above.
3. e4, Qh5; Ke7
4. Qxf7+; Kd6
5. Na3, Nac4+; Kc5
6. Qxe6, Qd5+; Kb4
7. Qa4#

Or, with 3. ... Qe7, as OP suggests,
4. Nxf7, Nd6+; Kd8
5. d4, Nf7+; Ke8 (if Qxf7, 6. Qxf7, Qxf8#)
6. Bg5, Nd6+; Kd8
7. Qe8#

$\endgroup$
5
  • $\begingroup$ does that count as making it to move 7? $\endgroup$ Jun 5 '17 at 0:37
  • $\begingroup$ I assumed that black has to make it to their move 7. $\endgroup$
    – Herb
    Jun 5 '17 at 0:39
  • $\begingroup$ From the last move line above,with queen guarding f7.. black might make it to 7th 1. Nf3, Ne5; Nc6 2. Nxc6, Ne5; e6, continuing as above. 3. e4, Qh5;Qe7(protecting f7) 4. d4,Bg5; g6 5. Bxe7,Qf3; Nh6.. 6. Bxf8,Bxh6;Rf8 7. Bxf8,Qxf7+;Kd8! $\endgroup$
    – TSLF
    Jun 5 '17 at 15:49
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @TSLF White mates with 7. Qa3, Qxf8#. 6. ... f5 or f6 may be better for black. I'm still looking at it, though. $\endgroup$
    – Herb
    Jun 5 '17 at 17:08
  • $\begingroup$ @Herb Wolfe-at 1st looks like theknight may be there too soon that it can threaten twice by black: 1. Nf3, Ne5; Nc6 2. Nxc6, Ne5; d6 3. e4, Qh5; but black cant take e5, 3..,..Be6..4. Bc4,Bxe6.. $\endgroup$
    – TSLF
    Jun 6 '17 at 17:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.