Here's a fun maze/grid puzzle inspired by this.

Rules of play:

Firstly, no two coins may occupy the same space at a time

Suppose we label the blue coins B1, B2

  • Then if B1 is on an arrow then we are allowed to move B2 in that direction (and vice versa)
  • If B1 is on a number we can move B2 that many squares BUT it may NOT go through another coin (say it can move 3 squares but the square directly above it is occupied, then it cannot move up)
  • If B1 is on an empty square we not move B2
  • Lastly, you are not allowed to go off the 4x4 grid.

Aim: Swap the red coins with the blue coins.

Here you go!

enter image description here

  • $\begingroup$ At the start, may the SE red coin move 2 squares in a zig-zag or must it go straight? Also, may it move another 2 squares immediately after moving 2? $\endgroup$
    – humn
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 10:49
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ In answer to the first question, it must move straight 2 squares. And for the second question, yes it may move twice or 3 times in a row. $\endgroup$
    – Wen1now
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 10:59
  • $\begingroup$ Are solutions found by computer acceptable? $\endgroup$
    – Gareth McCaughan
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 11:57
  • $\begingroup$ I guess a solution is a solution... :) But really, the puzzle is quite fun to do by hand (just use four counters or something) $\endgroup$
    – Wen1now
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 12:04
  • $\begingroup$ Suppose a coin is not on the edge of the board, does this means that he can't do the "3 squares" movement at all? $\endgroup$
    – FrodCube
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 12:06

1 Answer 1


I really liked this puzzle, as it was easy to reproduce on paper and posed a real challenge. Solving with trial and error did not work.

I've recorded the solution:


Thanks for the puzzle!

  • 2
    $\begingroup$ Please edit this answer to include an explanation of the solution. Link-only answers are discouraged here, because if the link goes dead (and Youtube links go dead all the time), then the answer would be rendered useless. $\endgroup$ Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 16:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.