If the capital city of a US state conforms to a special rule, I identify it as having a Balanced State of Capital™. As it turns out, only 8 of the 50 state capitals qualify for this Balanced State.

Those 8 state capitals, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Atlanta, GA
  • Boise, ID
  • Juneau, AK
  • Nashville, TN
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • Richmond, VA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Topeka, KS

What rule defines these each as Balanced State of Capitals?

Hint 1:

There are 42 state capitals that don't qualify. Look at a few to see how they might differ from these.


A capital city has a Balanced State of Capital if

it has the same number of letters in its name as its respective state.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.