5
$\begingroup$

You are playing with the black pieces and you know you have about a second before you run out of time and lose the game.

There is no time added to the clock and white has plenty of time left. What move do you play?

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
5
  • $\begingroup$ Is there a limit to the speed at which you can move pieces? $\endgroup$ – William Pennanti Dec 30 '20 at 11:27
  • $\begingroup$ I think in other words he is looking for the least number of moves to check the white king, because for now I don't see any fast checkmates $\endgroup$ – Anonymous Dec 30 '20 at 11:49
  • $\begingroup$ Is lateral thinking allowed? $\endgroup$ – Smartest1here Dec 30 '20 at 12:34
  • $\begingroup$ @WilliamPennanti assume you can make just a few moves before you run out of time. $\endgroup$ – Puzzle Prime Dec 30 '20 at 20:29
  • $\begingroup$ @Smartest1here it is a tricky question; based on a tricky rule:) I wouldn't say it is lateral though. $\endgroup$ – Puzzle Prime Dec 30 '20 at 20:30
5
$\begingroup$

I would play

1...Rg8xg6+ (or 1...Rg1xg6+ would work as well)

and then

after White plays the forced 2.Nf4xg6+, I play 2...Rg1xg6+. Now White must capture the rook with 3.Kh6xg6+. Now just capture the White's rook with the queen 3... Qb5xh5+ (actually, Black has to do it as an only way to get rid out of check), and White has again nothing except capturing the queen (with any of his remaining pieces, the king or the knight). All White's and Black's (except the first of course) moves are forced and lead to KN vs K, which is immediately declared draw by insufficient material.

Thanks go to @LeppyR64.

$\endgroup$
2
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Nxg6 by black delivers check and must be dealt with first. I like your answer a lot though! $\endgroup$ – LeppyR64 Dec 30 '20 at 19:02
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ That's right, but the reason why Rg8xg6+ works is that even if you run out of time immediately, the draw is guaranteed. Indeed, if the opponent does not have a path to win, the game is automatically a draw. If you add this info to the answer, I will accept it:) $\endgroup$ – Puzzle Prime Dec 30 '20 at 20:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.